Thank you to everyone who submitted an audition video for this year's spring musical. It was wonderful to get to see so many amazing musical theatre performances in what has, thus far, been a supremely uneventful year for performing. As all of you are now aware, due to circumstances beyond our control, we will no longer be producing our original choice of musical, Disney's Beauty and the Beast and are instead opting to produce a much smaller, much more easily contained musical, The 25th Annual Putnum County Spelling Bee. All auditions have rolled over to the new show and the callback list and song information is posted below.

     It is never my intention to discourage or otherwise set you up for failure, but I feel owing to the nature of the situation that it is only fair to set realistic expectations. We received 36 audition submissions this spring, which is amazing. We would have been able to accommodate most of those in a show the size of Beauty and the Beast. Unfortunately, The 25th Annual Putnum County Spelling Bee only includes 12 cast members, so realistically I will not be able to cast 2/3rds of the students who auditioned. I don't have a host of words that will provide solace over this situation, believe me, I am not happy about it, but the only assurance I can give you is that next spring, when the world is hopefully back to normal, or as close as possible, we can once again stage the large, brilliant, huge cast musicals we are accustomed to. I already have a few big ones picked out. So, if you are not cast, please don't let this discourage you from auditioning again in the future.


Please read all of the following information. Callbacks will be held next Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday after the post-school lunch period from 2:00 - 3:00pm. Please see the schedule below for your individual day. A reminder that masks must be worn at all times when on campus, including during call backs, and that physical distancing will be maintained while students are seated in the seats in the house. Please let Mr. Pace know as soon as possible if you are unable to accommodate this schedule or if you are no longer interested in being a part of the show.

For the song selections, rather than giving individual songs for cast members as this show has such a flexible cast, students will have the choice of a few songs depending on their voice type. Original cast recordings for reference (left video) and rehearsal backing tracks (right video) are located below. These are the same tracks that will be used for callbacks. We will be singing the whole songs. A few of them have passages where the soloist doesn't sing and other characters provide background harmonies. You may just stay silent during these passages and come back in when the soloist does.


Females may choose from "I Speak Six Languages", "I'm Not That Smart", "Prayer of the Comfort Counselor" and "My Friend, The Dictionary". Please note: "I'm Not That Smart" and "Prayer of the Comfort Counselor" were originally written as male parts. These songs should line up with the lower female range similar to alto sung an octave above where a male would be singing on the grand scale. See Mr. Pace or Mr. Campbell if you need further explanation of how this works.

Males may choose from "Magic Foot", I'm Not That Smart", "Prayer for the Comfort Counselor", and "My Unfortunate Distraction." (Please note: We will be using the edited version of this song for the show, not the orginal. The word is distraction. DISTRACTION!)


Sheet Music and Piano Score .pdf (All Songs): 

"I Speak Six Languages": 

"I'm Not That Smart":

"Prayer of the Comfort Counselor":

"My Friend, The Dictionary":

"My Unfortunate Distraction":





Courtney Bennett

Campbell Burnett

Abigale Dressback

Courtney Ferguson

Sadie Hart

Delaney Lucas

Liberty Mack

Abby Martin

Brenna Miller

Rylie Newton

Isabella Quinn

Madison Rafferty

Caitlin Rivera

Rylie Tabor

Jolie Thellab

Chloe Tisdale

Emma van Dyke

Viviana Vargas

Marissa Villa-Lovern

Kaia Walker

Haley Wyble

Ryan Butler

Max Cohen

Zachary Gage

Jacob Gorman